picture of three truck drivers

A Team Truck Driving Threesome

ZipRecruiter banner ad
  Post and Search for jobs fast!

I saw a rare, and always interesting situation, the other day. As we were about to head into Denny’s to eat at the Flying J in Blacksburg, SC, three men weAdvanced Auto Free Shipping bannerre leaving Denny’s. The three men were team truck drivers, one was a trainer, the other two men were trainees.

I immediately thought of my own team truck driving situation. My husband and I have some size on us. We usually take runs that are 800 miles or more. So, usually, one of us is driving while the other is asleep. Even in our situation, two people can be a bit much as far as space is concerned. Shoot… I’ll even go as far as to say as far as sanity is concerned! Lol Carhart 35% off summer sale

I remember when I was attending Katlaw Truck Driving School in Austell, Ga that one of the instructors used to be an over-the-road trainer based in California. He said that one trucking company he worked for made him take about four trainees at one time… WHAT?! Yes… there would be five people in the truck at one time… for weeks at a time! I don’t know about you, but there is no way on God’s green Earth that you’d catch me in that situation! I think that’s illegal now, but still…

The Team Trucking Digest signup bannerIn the case with the three truck drivers, team driving in the same truck, my mind started wondering things like doesn’t the trainer have to be in the front seat a certain number of hours? So, when does the trainer get some sleep? When they stop to take a shower, how do they get a team shower from one shower credit? Or, how does the pay get split? Does the trainer get a flat salary and the trainees split the mileage?

I know there are certain parts of a training program that are pretty straight forward. I was just curious because their situation is very different. I mean, that’s another personality you have to work with. Another body odor you have to smell… and all this from people you probably never met before it was time to take off for the first time… BOY-OH-BOY!

Seeing these three drivers really made BrandSmart banner adthe wheels in my head start turning with curiosity. Have you, or anyone you know, been in this type of team truck driving situation, where there’s more than just a trainer and one trainee? If so, I’d love to hear how that worked out. How long did they have to work like that? The ups and the downs?

Leave your comment in the box below. If you want to let me know your experience, but don’t want it to be public… no problem! I still want to know what you went through if you liked your experience or not. Email me at Ericka@teamtrucking.net and let’s talk about it.

Market America vitamin banner ad
Keep your energy level up with the right vitamins!

Until next week… Be awesome and be safe!

We love input!